Monthly recommendations

This is something new I’ve decided to try for my new blog. I plan to try and give out some recommendations of stuff to listen to, read, visit, cook ect on the first day of the new month. I’m not sure if this is going to work, but I think it might be useful. Of course most of the recommendations are coming from my current activities so let’s see what’s on the list today!

Book:

Image Detail

This is the book I am currently reading. Up to chapter 6 now. This is only the second book I’ve read by Brite. I love her writing style though and how she makes the simple so extreme. I went for this book as my next choice because it’s about vampires. So if you- like me-have had enough of the fairy, flimsy world of Twilight and need to get back to some real vampires doing what a vampire should do best frankly, then check out Lost Souls.

Music:

Image Detail

Currently being repeated on my ipod is this! My friend got me into All Time Low – an indie band. I’m much more into my heavy metal, but having to hear indie music for the first half of this year, my interest in this kind of music is growing. This is ATL latest album, but their other one Nothing Personal is also worth checking out if you are into this kind of music.

Place to visit:

Manchester Art Galley – see my post below.

Cooking:

Parsnip and Honey Soup

I tried this soup out yesterday and its a perfect thing to eat whilst the cold dark nights take over. The ingredients to serve 4 people are;

1 large potato

4 parsnips

1 large onion

1 garlic

2 pints vegetable stock

1 tablespoon honey

1 carton cream

salt and pepper

Recipe;

Place the peeled and cubed potato and parsnips in with the chopped garlic and onion in a large pan over a medium heat with some olive oil. Cook for a few minutes

Add stock and let simmer for  30 minutes and then put in a blender and blend until smooth.

Return to the pan. Add the honey, cream and seasoning, stirring well and then simmer for a further 20 mins.

Then eat because its so awesome!

And that’s it for now. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Monthly recommendations

  1. The first time you get ripped off and your camera caught it on tape you will be singing the praises of the equipment. The look on their faces when you show them the evidence is worth all the money spent!!!

  2. Scentsy says:

    Really a nice post. Thx for this article

  3. Hi there, You\’ve performed an incredible job. I\’ll definitely digg it and for my part recommend to my friends. I\’m sure they will be benefited from this website.

  4. sleigh bed says:

    beautiful website, really useful, thank you!

  5. This can be a excellent blog and i need to stop by this each day of the week .

  6. Mint sounds like a great application! Is there anybody who has experience using this app? I\’m going to download it and check the reviews, but I just wanted to hear a positive review from somebody on this site

  7. So much for not being obvious you are being watched!

Leave a Reply

