The Smell Of Books Con

I know that most people believe that Kindle and reading books on electronica devices is the future.  For; it is light and small so can go anyway happily, it can store 3,000 plus odd books of any size, out of print books and specialized books are only a few clicks away and you can get as many books as you want at another click. On most devices you can now use tools whilst you read, so you can highlight parts, add notes, share these notes with the world if you want, change the size of the texted or whatever. I can see why people believe in them and why so many people have them, but I don’t want one. That coming from a book lover sounds a bit wrong, for who would turn down the chance to have 3,000 plus books fitting into your pocket and being the weight of a feather? Well, my reasonings are clear above the smell and feel of books gets my excited. The smell and feel of a electronic device does not.
The reading of books is another thing and I know that this is changing. All of the time on my train trips to uni I see people reading from devices, but for me I just can’t do it. I can’t forces on screens for long, including computers, tv and phones. I get headaches and sore eyes and my mind has a habit of giving up and wondering off. I doubt I’d even be able to read my favourite novel off a screen because of this. For me, I have to read from paper. I have to be able to rub the pages between my fingers and turn over pages. I find I’m comforted by books and their phyical presence. Technology doesn’t do that. Don’t get me wrong though, I don’t enjoying being without my laptop and phone. In fact the only time I do is when I’m camping as then I go with out electricity. (That’s another story) It’ll be awhile then till I actually try to use a device to read a book on and though this might be the future, I think the book in its classic form will still be around because there is just something about. Something that people can’t lay their fingers on and we are still addicted to them.
4 thoughts on “The Smell Of Books Con

  1. I seldom comment, but i did some searching and wound up here The Smell Of Books Con Hayley's Musing Page. And I do have a couple of questions for you if you tend not to mind. Is it simply me or does it look as if like a few of the remarks come across like coming from brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are posting at additional online sites, I’d like to keep up with everything fresh you have to post. Would you list of the complete urls of your community pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  2. connect says:

    I think aFinance Budget is a good one as well, pretty simple and easy, yet powerfull.

  3. What is the app in center of the headline image? I love the calendar view…

  4. Excellent writing! Thank you for this wonderful source of information.

Leave a Reply

